V&A Reading Rooms in London

Today I thought I would blog about a recent discovery in London–The V&A Reading Rooms. About a year ago I bought a LivingSocial coupon for £10.00, which included a bottle of Prosecco and 15% off the purchase of a book at the V&A Reading Rooms. I had never heard about it and it was located in South Kensington, an area I don’t get to much, so I thought it would be fun to try something new. Since I lived in London and spend the equivalent of about two months a year here, I am constantly looking for new and different things to do off the beaten path.

So, on a chilly spring day the beginning of last year, my boyfriend and I set off to find the V&A Reading Rooms, which turned out to be a Notting Hill-esque bookshop with a bar that serves everything from a cappuccino to a hot toddy to a gin and tonic, little snack treats are also available. We spent about an hour and a half sitting at the bar sipping our Prosecco and perusing the books – seriously, can book shopping get any better? It was a totally relaxing afternoon and we had such a wonderful time that I decided on my current trip to London that I would return.

This time I set off after lunch on my own to rediscover the bookshop that I loved so much and I can report that a year later it is just as we left it. I sipped a glass of Prosecco, browsed the books (two of which I purchased), and worked on my blog. It was the perfect activity for a freezing cold, overcast afternoon. The setting is very London-esque and the sparkling wine very vacation oriented – the best of both worlds.

I encourage everyone to check out the V&A Reading Rooms when next in London (just down the street from the Victoria & Albert Museum; nearest tube – South Kensington). Stop in for a coffee or cocktail, and spend an hour or two looking at the books – it is the perfect venue.

My final rating: 5 stars (out of 5) — A truly delightful experience.

For more information visit: http://www.vandareadingrooms.co.uk/

“When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford.” –Samuel Johnson

Leave a Reply

