Quick and Healthy “Fried Rice”

So Friday night – after a solid month of many houseguests, travels, and fun – I had the opportunity to finally have a quiet night in my apartment. I immediately left work at the stroke of 430pm and pounced around doing errands, collecting dinner items (I still don’t know what I am making at this point), and grabbing some cheese. Cheese is always my failsafe for a Friday night – if I don’t have plans I will generally just try a new bottle of wine and have a fantastic cheese and charcuterie board (never a bad idea). But this particular Friday, I was kind of slow to get around the kitchen – still unsure what I would make. I had bought some prepackaged veggies (my laziness taking over here) because I thought perhaps I could sautee them and have them on the side, but it was still not appealing to me. Then it came to me … Fried Rice!

I have always deemed fried rice as a very unhealthy take out type of food, but thought for a Friday night it could be a quick and fun challenge for me. “How to I make this light and healthy,” I thought while chopping up peppers, red onion, mushrooms, carrots, broccoli, and cooking white rice. Then it all sort of came together quite easily. See the recipe below – I hope you enjoy this very easy, quick, delicious dinner as much as I did!

Quick and Healthy “Fried Rice”

Ingredients
One package of white rice (NOTE: I used Comet Rice, but got that in the Outer Banks. If you cannot get this rice, simply use a box of white rice)

1 Package or 3 cups of finely chopped veggies (can be some variation of peppers, red onion, mushrooms, carrots, broccoli, or any other veggies you deem delicious)

2 eggs and 2 additional egg whites (You could use 4 eggs, but I found the combination of 2 whole eggs plus 2 egg whites to be lighter)

2 tablespoons vegetable oil + any additional needed in the wok

Directions
1. Chop all vegetables finely (almost to the point of dicing). Vegetables

2. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a wok and simultaneously start cooking box rice.

3. When hot, add the vegetables to the wok – Cook on medium for about 10 minutes, until soft.

4. Next add 2 whole eggs and 2 additional egg whites to wok – Cook until eggs become scrambled.

5. Add cooked rice (about two cups cooked rice) to wok.

6. Turn wok to medium and stir until all ingredients are added evenly (add salt and pepper as necessary).

7. Serve with soy sauce and if needed a little hot sauce (I generally use the green Tabasco sauce).

8. Enjoy!

Leave a comment